The Norm Newstead Community Service Award

This Community Service Award commenced in 2004 in memory of the late Charter Member Norm Newstead who passed away on 3 December 2004. This is a perpetual trophy award created to acknowledge Norm’s outstanding contributions to the community. 

Norm was a dedicated, community-focussed Rotarian who lived the ideal of service above self. The award honours the memory of Norm by promoting role-models who demonstrate the Rotary ideal of service above self. Norm joined the newly formed Rotary Club of Templestowe at its charter on 28 March 1977 and was the one of the early Presidents of the club (our sixth President). Norm was to later carry out many other roles in the club including Treasurer, International Service, Membership, Fundraising, Vice President, Community Service, Youth Service and Fellowship to name a few! Norm was awarded his first Paul Harris Fellow (PHF) recognition in 1985/86.  Norm’s Rotary classification was “Wholesale Textile Distribution”. After a brief time in the public sector, he worked for Wenzel Pty Ltd for 43 years in Warehousing and as a Director. He then joined Charles Parsons furnishing division for another seven years before retiring in 1993. Norm was married to Lois and they had two daughters Jennifer and Susan. He was a keen golfer and a member of the Yarra Valley Country Club.  

Norm set up the Templestowe Men’s Probus Club and became a member, and later also set up the Templestowe Central Probus club. He was also, for many years, a Rotary representative on the Donwork Committee and Chairman of Manningham Policing Community Consultative Committee. Norm was a keen Collingwood supporter and was delighted to see their winning grand finals in 1953, 1958 and 1990. 

Norm was a strong believer in giving back to the community and this award was developed in his memory to recognise members of the Rotary Club of Templestowe each year, who demonstrate and share this passion. 


  • 2004 – 2005  Kevin and Elinor Rowe
  • 2005 – 2006  David Carson  
  • 2006 – 2007  Paul Gallagher 
  • 2007 – 2008  Ken Wall 
  • 2008 – 2009  Rod Simkiss 
  • 2009 – 2010  Rod Simkiss 
  • 2010 – 2011  Linda Mackenzie 
  • 2011 – 2012  Keith Anderson 
  • 2012 – 2013  Bruce Evans 
  • 2013 – 2014  Erik Rubens 
  • 2014 – 2015  Zak Fakhri 
  • 2015 – 2016  Marilyn Fraser-Ryan and Ian Ryan 
  • 2016 – 2017  Graham Kane 
  • 2017 - 2018   Graeme Cobb 
  •  2018 - 2019  Rosina Cincotta 
  •  2019 - 2020  Vicki Martinez 
  • 2020 - 2021   Rod Simkiss
  • 2021 - 2022
  • 2022 - 2023 Luke Bastian